How To Invest 100k — 10 Brilliant Ideas To Consider Today

Rick Orford
9 min readJan 17, 2021

Are you wondering how to invest 100k? Perhaps you’ve just sold your home, inherited money, or maybe you won the lottery. Either way, getting such a windfall happens to many, at least once in a millennials’ lifetime. And, it’s natural to seek out the best ways how to start.

When I was about 26 years old, after investing in a home, renovating it, and then selling it, I made my first 100k. I remember the day well because I hadn’t ever seen a check so big before! To be sure, renovating and selling it wasn’t my first thought. I expected to live in the home for a long time. Real estate prices went up significantly, and I decided to take some chips off the table.

Around the same time, I also had a friend who, through an insurance policy, got an $80k settlement. My friend spent her money in less than a year. In my case, it invested it in a new home.

For this article, I will assume that in your financial plan, you have done all the following:

When it’s time To Invest Your 100k

Assuming all the above is complete, then you can move forward. But, until that time, there’s no point thinking about where to invest that 100k. For example, if you don’t follow a budget or don’t have an emergency fund, or you’re carrying high-interest debt…

--

--

Rick Orford

Rick’s passion is personal finance, and works tirelessly to deliver content in an easy-to-understand manner. He is an author, investor, mentor.