Side Hustles for College Students — And Ways To Market Themselves

Rick Orford
7 min readJan 21, 2021

In this article, I cover various side hustles and part-time jobs for college students. Indeed, college is an exciting period in someone’s life. And for millions of Americans, it represents some of the best times in life. From higher learning, life long connections, it’s no doubt, going to college is a popular option. Not to forget, it’s also helpful when looking for a job.

I never went to college. My parents never really had a lot of money. Sure, they did a great job to provide for the family, and we always had a roof over our heads. But, I often had to save up to buy the things that I wanted to have, like a new bicycle or a new computer. For as long as I can remember, I had a side-hustle. It was something to supplement my income while I was busy with other things.

Unfortunately, college is expensive and often results in expensive student loans. For example, some of the degrees that cost the most include medicine, engineering, and finance. Unless you’re blessed with a wealthy family, it’s a monumental challenge trying to balance a budget, especially when paying rent, tuition, , and other living expenses. As a result, millions of college students turn to a side-justle, a second job, as an extra income source. In fact, for many college students, a side hustle replaces a job.

--

--

Rick Orford

Rick’s passion is personal finance, and works tirelessly to deliver content in an easy-to-understand manner. He is an author, investor, mentor.